Planning Commission (PC)

PLANNING COMMISSION CANCELLED 1-17-24 due to inclement weather. Next meeting will be February 7th, at 6:00 PM

Regular Meetings

  • 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month at 6:00pm PST
  • Clallam County Courthouse and/or via Zoom (see agenda)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Access live and archived meetings online


Elected Officers

  • Steve Gale, Chair
  • Ronald Long, Vice-Chair

District 1 Members

  • N. Bonnie Booth
  • Steve Gale
  • Ronald Long

District 2 Members

  • Katina Hester
  • Jeff Carter
  • Thomas Butler

District 3 Members

  • Jane Hielman
  • Vacant
  • Kenneth Reandeau


The Clallam County Planning Commission (PC) is a nine-member, volunteer advisory panel that makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) on land use planning and regulatory issues. Members are appointed by the BOCC for staggered terms of 4 years each. Each BOCC District is represented by three Planning Commission members. The Planning Commission also assists the Clallam County Department of Community Development in carrying out its planning-related duties.

The typical duties of the Planning Commission include, but are not limited to, assisting in the update and amendment of the comprehensive plan and land use regulations (e.g., zoning, land division, environmental); reviewing applications for open space tax benefits pursuant to CCC 27.08; assisting in the annual review of the Six Year Transportation Improvement Program, and other matters referred to them by the BOCC. In carrying out their duties, the PC considers public input on matters before them prior to forwarding a recommendation to the BOCC.

Planning Commission meetings are conducted under Roberts Rules of Order (parliamentary procedure) with leadership provided by a Chair and a Vice-Chair who are elected by the members annually. The Planning Commission operates under CCC 26.01 and a set of by-laws. Staff support is provided by the long-range planning section of the County Planning Division, although other County staff may also be involved.